Inspiration: Round 1

As we wait to get quotes back from the contractors – (1 down, 1 to go) – and to meet with the kitchen company, it feels like our reno has come to a screeching halt.  Time to get an idea file going!  I’ve been so focused on the practical considerations, that I really haven’t thought a lot about what I want the kitchen to LOOK like.   In good design “form follows function”, but I don’t see why the kitchen can’t look great while working hard.  I’m a bit of a magazine junkie (occupational hazard?) so the logical place to turn is my stack of design mags, but – alas – there is little inspiration to be found there.  I have yet to see a magazine makeover that could translate into my home, so I have resorted to pulling bits and pieces from various sources, to compile an overall wish list.

In this post, I’m sharing images I pulled from www.bhg.com, the online home of Better Homes and Gardens magazine.  Why?  Because, although I don’t subscribe to their magazine, I did recently purchase their “Beautiful Kitchens & Baths” special issue, as shown here.  It was the cover photo that caught my eye.  I love the combination of blue-gray cabinets with light countertops, as those are the colours I have in mind for my new kitchen.  BHG kitchen  mag cover1

Flipping through their well-organized slide shows, I’ve gathered snapshots of ideas I like.  These are a definite ‘Yes’:

YES bookcase in end of peninsula

YES to a bookcase in the end of the peninsula — except mine will be closed on the sides, not open like this one.

YES to ceiling-height cupboards.  We're all tall, although I might need a footstool to reach the very top shelf.

YES to ceiling-height cupboards. We’re all tall, although I might need a footstool to reach the very top shelf.

YES to a heavy-duty range hood.  And please make it quiet!  We need to keep the smoke, smells, and sounds to a minimum with the new kitchen being more open to the rest of the house.

YES to a heavy-duty range hood. And please make it quiet! We need to keep the smoke, smells, and sounds to a minimum with the new kitchen being more open to the rest of the house.

YES to a slim pull-out rack for spices and oils, next to the cooktop.

YES to a slim pull-out rack for spices and oils, next to the cooktop.

YES to a restaurant-style tall faucet and sprayer.  Practical trumps pretty in this case.

YES to a restaurant-style tall faucet and sprayer. Practical trumps pretty in this case.

YES to hidden, but accessible,  storage for small appliances.  Banish the counter-top clutter!

YES to hidden, but accessible, storage for small appliances. Banish the counter-top clutter!

Here are a few of my “Maybe” items:

MAYBE to a small TV.  I like the idea of being able to watch while cooking, but I'm not sure it will make the final cut.

MAYBE to a small TV. I like the idea of being able to watch while cooking, but I’m not sure it will make the final cut.

YES vintage brick wall

MAYBE to a brick wall. I love the one we added to our front entrance, and I’m thinking of creating a feature wall where the exterior door is being removed. I love the combination of sleek and rustic.

MAYBE wall ovens

MAYBE to wall ovens. They don’t seem to make them with the same capacity as a slide-in range combo, which is why you always see them in pairs, I guess. If I do get a wall oven, it will still have to be under the counter, so the only advantage is if we decide to separate the cooktop and the oven for some reason.

I only have one definite “No” at this time, at least as far as magazine photos are concerned:

NO to open shelves and cupboards without doors.  I know that these will never look photo-shoot ready in my house, and I can't stand to see clutter.  These will not be finding a home in our kitchen!

NO to open shelves and cupboards without doors. I know that these will never look photo-shoot ready in my house, and I can’t stand to see clutter. These will not be finding a home in our kitchen!

Next, I’m off to the National Home Show, one of the largest in North America, for inspiration.  I’ve been to the show for many years, but as an exhibitor, I’ve never had time to browse like a consumer.  This year, it’s a must.  Check back next time for my thoughts on what they have to offer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

