Details make the design

This has been a critical week in our renovation plans.  It was the week that cheques were signed and orders were placed — for the kitchen itself, as well as appliances, and the garage door.  The roof and siding have been scheduled.  Now that the kitchen has been ordered, a schedule has been put in place that will (hopefully) see everything completed before school starts in September, and we all get back into our regular routines.  Unfortunately, our contractor is away, so while we wait for him to return and get started, I have been reviewing some of the details of our design.

Charles Eames said “The details are not the details. They make the design.” 

My future living room drapery fabric with a piece of art already hanging in my current kitchen.

My future living room drapery fabric with a piece of art already hanging in my current kitchen.

I LOVE this fabric for the way it brings together all of my old colours with the new gray-neutral kitchen.  And I love the way the fabric works with this art print that currently hangs in my kitchen.  The art will definitely have pride of place on one of the few remaining walls in the new space.  Now if I could only decide what colour those walls will be…..

Our hardwood flooring selection.

Our hardwood flooring selection.

I’ve never been a fan of prefinished hardwood floors — their perfection is over-rated, especially when scratches start to appear from everyday use.  But we fell in love with this wire-brushed, matte finish, and the warm greige stain that lets the grain show through.  It goes with warm and cool colours, which is perfect, as it will be adaptable to changing decor (an occupational hazard for a decorator!)

The hardware for our new kitchen cupboards.

The hardware for our new kitchen cupboards.

While many designers and decorators become obsessed with the smallest details, I find I’m extremely pragmatic about certain things.  This comes from years of working with clients to choose finishes for their new homes; whenever possible, I try to help them to create interesting and classic combinations with as many standard finishes as possible, upgrading only when it’s really worthwhile.  In the case of the hardware for our kitchen, I wanted to work within the ‘standard’ selections being offered, in order to stay on budget.  In order to keep things interesting, we have decided to go for oversize handles on our pantry wall, where we have floor to ceiling cabinets.  We will use the smallest handles on the rest of the cupboards and drawers in the work area.  Drawers will have 2 handles, so we didn’t want to overwhelm them with oversize handles.  These handles are generously sized to allow easy access for fingers of all sizes.  

Our new quartz countertops have an understated gray vein.

Our new quartz countertops have an understated gray vein.

I’m looking forward to the crispness of our new white quartz countertops against the gray cabinetry.  I’ve never been a fan of marble countertops for kitchens (I don’t enjoy the idea of watching them get stained!) so this is the next best thing for practical me.

Our backsplash tile combines rustic slate with  sleek glass and stainless steel.

This is how our backsplash tile is expected to be installed — horizontally.

I love the way our backsplash tile combines rustic slate with sleek white and gray glass.  However, I’d like to create a little more interest with the backsplash, without introducing another material.  I’ve decided that simply installing some of the tiles on the vertical will do the trick.  I plan to do this on the wall where our door ‘should’ be, as well as (possibly) behind the cooktop.  

I think our backsplash tile will look even better hung vertically in some areas.

I think our backsplash tile will look even better hung vertically in some areas.

I love the new geometric patterns appearing on fabrics right now, so these air vent covers are a perfect way to incorporate them into my new kitchen.  

The geometric pattern of these stainless steel air vent covers is on-trend.

The geometric pattern of these stainless steel air vent covers is on-trend.

 

One thought on “Details make the design

  1. love the wire-brushed floor, Jeanne! I am also not a fan of “perfect” wood floors. I love floors that look like they have some history and a story to tell! Good luck with the schedule!

Leave a Reply

